Paris Fashion Doll Festival 2013 part 1

by Dutch Fashion Doll World

My first convention and what a great experience. We (my partner and I) arrived in Paris on Thursday. It wasn’t sure the day before if we even would get to Paris because of the snow. On wednesday there were no trains going from Rotterdam to Paris. But with a small delay we arrived at Gare du Nord.

Image

We arrived really early so we had the whole day to spend in the city. We had booked a hotel in Marais and went to a beautiful Haute Couture Exposition in Hotel de Ville. I was so great to see all the beautiful pieces from all the Famous Couture houses. Unfortunately making pictures was not allowed but I made one just before one of the guards caught me ;-).

Image

An original Chanel suit from Coco Chanel next to a Chanel Suit from Karl Lagerfeld. The rest of the day we spend and terraces drinking wine and speculate what the first day would bring us.

The next day I had my first event at the Novotel Est.

Image

It was the High Tea with Ellowyne Wilde & Evangeline Ghasly. Ok now you are all thinking Rogier why did you went to this event. Your a Barbie collector !!! But because the tickets for the Barbie event were sold out and there were only combination tickets left I had to buy these tickets.

One of the great thing I learned  about conventions is meeting people. And in the first minute I entered the Hotel I had made some new friends. The doll collectors are all such nice and open people. And I think they spot new people from miles away.

So I ended up at a really nice table and the presentation started. There was a small Tonner Doll movie, some games and the presentation from the convention doll.

Image

Ok to be honest they are not my type of dolls. But I can imagine that if your a Tonner Doll collector the girls are a great addition to your collection. The edition from Ellowyne Wilde is 150 and Evangeline is 100. And it was great to see the reaction from the collectors when they were revealed.

We also got some extra gifts from Tonner. One of the gifts were these Ellowyne Wilde shoes. I really like them but they are so big !

Image

So at the end of the day I ended up with two dolls that I have to find new homes for. But I love to meet all the collectors. And I got my tickets for the Barbie event So the Convention Silkstone was getting closer to me.

Image

Tomorrow I will write some more about the barbie event the next day.