National Barbie Doll Convention part1

by Dutch Fashion Doll World

Today I got back from the National Barbie Doll Convention in Arlington. And wow this was such an amazing experience.

Last week Sunday I arrived at the Washington airport where my dear friend Rebecca who you all know from the blog Inside The Fashion Doll Studio picked me up. I should have arrive there on Saturday. But because of the bad weather in Holland I missed my flight in Iceland. Iceland is gorgeous and IcelandAir was so kind to put me in a great hotel where I ended up in the Bridal suite. This because of the nice gentleman at the desk first tried to put me in a room where a nice Chinese family was sitting on the beds watching TV. I think the chance that you guys will read this is very small but again I’m so so sorry that I scared you by entering you room with my two big suitcases (yes doll conventioneers don’t travel light).

Schermafbeelding 2015-08-03 om 21.37.00

The last time I saw  Rebecca was 2 years ago at the Fashion Doll Festival in Paris . So you can imagine how excited I was finally seeing her again.

When we arrived in the Hotel the Barbie MADNESS began. The official National Barbie Convention schedule would begin on Wednesday. But the days before its’a all about roomshopping and the designers parties.

The Room shopping is the best thing ever. We don’t have this at the European conventions. So for me this was something new. From level 9 up to 18 you could find these boards where people post when and what they were selling from their rooms.

Schermafbeelding 2015-08-03 om 23.15.05

There is so much to see. Many dealers and collectors opened their rooms to sell.

Schermafbeelding 2015-08-03 om 23.45.12

My tip is start from the top and work your way down. And do this several times until Wednesday. Because every time you do this there will be new rooms that are open to do doll business 😉 and it’s also cheaper to buy stuff during these days because you won’t pay extra taxes like when you buy things later that week in the salesroom.

Tomorrow I will write about the designers parties and if you cant wait. I uploaded all my pictures on my flickr account.

https://www.flickr.com/photos/rcsilkstone/