Prototype Silkstones

by Dutch Fashion Doll World

Since I started collecting I’m obsessed about the stories I heard about the prototype / ooak Silkstone dolls that were created for a silent auction to benefit the Hetrick-Martin Institute. This auction took place at Jeffrey New York, december 16, 1999. The year before Mattel launched the Silkstone collection.

I never saw pictures of these dolls. Until yesterday when I found an old Barbie Bazaar from April 2004.

BB1.jpg

According to the article they had 4 different type of dolls.

The designer dolls: 10 dolls dressed by famous fashion designers.

BB13

The designers that worked on this project were: Narcisso Roderiquez, Lucien Pellat-Finet, Rebecca Moses, John Bartlett, Josephus Thimister, Colette Dinnigan, Marc Jacobs, Courreges, Tulleh and Michae Kors.

A serie of dolls dressed in glamorous evening dresses.

BB11BB12

In the pictures of the article I see 15 different dolls. I love the redhead in the black gown and the platinum blonde bride.

A collection of 7 dolls all dressed in black. Here you see a platinum prototype Fashion Editor. You can also see her in some of the early Sikstone ads.

BB14

And a collection of 7 different lingerie dolls.

BB10